The Young & Chic Times - Everything for Childrens, Juniors and Young Riders!

Sunday, June 22, 2014
Posted by



Mary-Cameron Rollins (Photo: Sharon Packer)
Mary-Cameron Rollins (Photo: Sharon Packer)
Greetings Ladies and Gentlemen from our first edition of the Young and Chic Times! I created this newsletter together with Michele Hundt from ShowChic, of course, to bring you the latest, greatest, and most interesting news surrounding everything that has to do with Childrens, Juniors, and Young Riders! We have several bloggers that will be writing for you including Mckenzie Jenkins, Annie Peavy, and Klendy Muller. Each very special in their own way and writing to you from different parts of the world! Please take a moment to check them out in their introductions! I will also be bringing you both fun and interesting topics to read from how to get sponsorships to how keep your Shadbelly in tip top shape and everything in between. Who am I, you ask? My name is Mary-Cameron Rollins, and I am a 26 year old professional Dressage rider. I was born and raised in Pensacola, Florida, but moved to Wellington, Florida in 2009 in order to seriously pursue a riding career. I have been riding Dressage since I was 9 years old, and completed my first Prix St George at 13 years old. I was ranked in the top 20 as a junior, and top five as a Young Rider and top three as an Under 25 GP rider. Over time, I have received my USDF Bronze, Silver, and Gold medal. I have had one top five finish at the Festival of Champions in the Young Rider Division and one top three finish in the Brentina Cup Division on my mare Rose Noir 2. In 2009, Rose Noir 2 and I won the Individual Gold Medal at NAYRC as well as a Bronze medal with my team. I have had several first place finishes at Florida CDIs and Regional Championships in the Young Rider and Open Divisions. This year I had many top place finishes in the FEI Five Year Old Division and qualified for the USEF Markel Young Horse Championship in the top five on my horse Evangelion. I also had a few first place finishes on my horse Abracadabra in the small tour. I currently train with the fantastic duo of Oded Shimoni and Kevin Kohmann out of OS Dressage in Wellington, but I have also worked in the past with Anne Gribbons, Tinne Vilhelmson Silfven, George Williams, and Patrick Burssens to name a few. Besides horses, my other passion is couture and fashion design. Last year, I graduated with a Bachelor's Degree in Fashion Merchandising and Management.

Some of you may have seen me toodling around the show grounds in Wellington either working at ShowChic or riding around in a ShowChic saddle pad. I have been sponsored by and working with ShowChic for about three years now, and in that period of time I have been able to meet and interact with so many wonderful people in our sport. While working for ShowChic and riding on the Florida Circuit I have seen a lot, and in this column, my goal is to provide you with advice, answers, and interesting facts that can help you in your journey through the pony, junior, and young riders ranks, to make an easy transition over to being an AA or Open rider. Every month I will be answering one or two questions sent in by you, our readers, to help you do just that. You can send in your questions to my facebook page or email at ask.mc@outlook.com. I look forward to hearing from all of you, and answering your questions to the absolute best of my ability!

Introducing The Contributing Bloggers for the Young & Chic Times

Para-Dressage Rider Annie Peavy
Para-Dressage Rider Annie Peavy
Annie Peavy
I am Annie Peavy. I am a 17-year-old Dressage rider from Connecticut, and I am partially paralyzed on my left side due to a blood clot I suffered before being born. Despite this, I compete in dressage and Para-dressage* events worldwide. Currently, I am trying to make the 2014 team for the United States to compete in the World Equestrian Games, which will be held in Normandy, France this summer. I qualified for selection trials in Gladstone, New Jersey on my wonderful horses, Lancelot Warrior and Ozzy Cooper. Both were purchased in Denmark under the careful guidance of my trainer, Heather Blitz. Ozzy is an 8 year old Trakehner gelding who was with a young rider in Denmark. Lance is a 12 year old Hanoverian gelding who competed through Prix St. George in Denmark. I spent over a month in Denmark training with them to make sure we were the right fit. Upon returning to the states, we started showing in the CPEDI, and due to our success there, we qualified for the selection trials. We decided to compete in the FEI juniors with the hope of making the Region 8 team for NAJYRC in Kentucky. Para-Dressage has been a wonderful opportunity for me, because it was a gateway for my riding. I was first introduced to riding for therapeutic reasons, but my competitive spirit, like all riders, spurred me on. At first, I wanted to compete, but soon I wanted to win, in any class and anywhere.

I am so lucky to have these two horses to compete with and learn from. I am excited to share with you all of my adventures starting with Gladstone!

* Para-dressage enables people with disabilities to compete, starting with local shows up to The World Equestrian Games and Paralympic levels. Para riders are graded based on their disability from 1a through IV. 1a is more impaired and a grade IV is the least impaired.

Young Rider Klendy Muller
Young Rider Klendy Muller
Klendy Muller
Hi there! My name is Klendy Muller and I am a 17 year dressage rider born and raised in Wellington, Florida. This year I started competing in the Young Rider division with my 19 year old chestnut mare, Nakili. I have the honor to be sharing with you some parts of my journey as I grow as a rider and competitor. I am currently a "working student" for my mom at our barn, LBR Stables in Loxahatchee, Florida, where I ride our horses alongside my mom, manage our barn, and learn the ways of running a training facility. It's a lot of hard work, and half of the time my mom and I butt heads, but I know how important it is to not only ride well, but also know how to take care of partners as well.

You can say that I have been riding my whole life because my mom was still showing when she was 8 months pregnant with me. My mom grew up in Holland where she rode and worked for many top dressage trainers. My dad is originally from Denmark, but lives in England as he is Grand Prix Dressage rider and trainer. Because of my parents, my life has always been about horses, therefore, I could not think of doing anything other than this!

In the beginning of the 2013 winter season, I was given the opportunity from a very close family friend, Cynthia Morcott, to ride and show her horse in the Junior tests. At that time, I didn't even know how to ride a correct half-pass! As my mom says to me, "In order to step it up, you're going to have to suck it up and ride", and that is just what we did. Nikki, aka Nakili, and I have been through a lot of sweat, tears, and sickness issues, but we have finally gotten to the point where we look like we belong out there with those fancy junior and young rider horses!

Everyday that I am around my horses riding and working, I feel that there is always something new to be learned, a habit that needs to be broken, or just getting one step closer to your main goal. Therefore, I am very excited to share with you my journey as I reach my goals!

U-25 Rider McKenzie Jenkins
U-25 Rider McKenzie Jenkins
Mckenzie Jenkins
Hello everyone! My name is McKenzie Jenkins. I am a 21 year old dressage rider originally from Gallatin, TN. I recently started a working student job with Devon Kane at Diamante Farm in Wellington. We are headed to Ette in Germany on May 12th for 3 months, and I will be sharing some of my experiences with you! I have only been to Europe once and just for a quick trip, so I am so excited to have the opportunity to experience living in Europe. I will be with Devon every day at Hubertus Schmidt's barn and traveling with her to shows. I will also be riding Devon's horse, Don Angelo.

I began riding when I was 6 years old. I started riding Western Pleasure, because that was the normal in Gallatin, TN. I tried a little bit of jumping, definitely not my thing. When I was 10 I went to my first Dressage show, and I fell in love. My parents bought me my first dressage horse when I was 13. She was an eight year old Anglo Arabian named Tsarina. I took Tsarina to NAJC in 2008 where we won an individual Bronze medal and a Silver medal in the freestyle. In 2009, we qualified for NAYRC, and our team won a Bronze medal. We also made it to Gladstone in 2009 for Young Riders. Tsarina also helped me with scores for my USDF Bronze and Silver medals. This year I had the privelege of leasing a Grand Prix schoolmaster. I was able to show in the U-25 division in Wellington all season. I was also able to obtain all my scores to receive my USDF Gold Medal.

Hello There