Rio Paralympics 2016 - U.S. Paralympic Equestrian Team Passes Jog

Monday, September 12, 2016
Posted by Lindsay Y. McCall

2016 U.S. Paralympic Equestrian Athletes, Rebecca Hart, Chef d'Equipe Kai Handt, Sydney Collier, Margaret McIntosh, Annie Peavy, and Roxanne Trunnell

2016 U.S. Paralympic Equestrian Athletes - Left to Right (Rebecca Hart, Chef d'Equipe Kai Handt, Sydney Collier, Margaret McIntosh, Annie Peavy, and Roxanne Trunnell. (Photo: courtesy Tina Wentz)

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - The U.S. Paralympic Equestrian Team was excited to announce that all five horses passed the jog for the 2016 Paralympic Equestrian Games. Seventy-six horses stepped in front of the ground jury including President Hanneke Gerritsen (NED); Marc Urban (BEL); Anne Prain (FRA); Marco Orsini (GER); Sarah Leitch (GBR); Alison King (HKG); and Kjell Myhre (NOR). The U.S.  Team is led by Chef d'Equipe Kai Handt and includes the youngest Paralympic Equestrian athlete at the Games and 2010 World Equestrian Games (WEG) rider Sydney Collier (Ann Arbor, Mich.). Collier will compete in Grade Ib with Wesley Dunham's Western Rose, a 2003 Oldenburg mare. Collier's teammates include three-time Paralympian Rebecca Hart (Wellington, Fla.), Grade II, and her own Schroeters Romani, a 2002 Danish Warmblood mare; Margaret McIntosh (Reading, Pa.), Grade Ia, and her own Rio Rio, a 2006 Rheinland Pfalz-Saar mare; and 2010 WEG athlete Angela Peavy (Avon, Conn. and Wellington, Fla.), Grade III, and Heather Blitz and Rebecca Reno's Lancelot Warrior, a 2002 Hanoverian gelding. Competing as an individual in Grade Ia is 2010 WEG team member Roxanne Trunnell (Rowlett, Texas) and Julia Handt's 2005 Westphalian gelding Royal Dancer. All five Paralympians are looking forward to the first day of competition on Sunday, September 11, at the Deodoro Olympic Equestrian Center. The 2016 Paralympic Equestrian Games run from September 11-16, 2016, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Timeline of Events at the Paralympic Games:

September 11  
10:00 AM Grade III Team - Annie Peavy (12:33 PM)
2:00 PM  Grade Ib Team - Sydney Collier (2:09 PM)

September 12    
10:00 AM Grade IV Team
2:00 PM  Grade Ia Team - Margaret McIntosh, Roxanne Trunnell

September 13  
10:00 AM Grade II Team - Rebecca Hart
2:00 PM  Grade III Individual - Annie Peavy
5:05 PM  Grade III - Victory Ceremony

September 14    
10:00 AM Grade IV Ind.
12:20 PM Grade IV Ind. - Victory Ceremony
2:00 PM  Grade Ib Ind. - Sydney Collier
5:05 PM  Grade Ib Ind.  - Victory Ceremony

September 15    
10:00 AM Grade II Ind. - Rebecca Hart
1:00 PM  Grade II Ind. - Victory Ceremony
2:00 PM  Grade Ia Ind. - Margaret McIntosh, Roxanne Trunnell
4:55 PM  Grade Ia Ind. - Victory Ceremony

September 16
9:00  AM  Grade III FS - Annie Peavy
10:10 AM  Grade IV FS
11:16 AM  Grade III FS - Victory Ceremony
11:31 AM  Grade IV FS - Victory Ceremony
1:00 PM   Grade Ib FS - Sydney Collier
2:10 PM   Grade Ia FS - Margaret McIntosh, Roxanne Trunnell
3:10 PM   Grade II FS - Rebecca Hart
4:16 PM   Grade Ia FS - Victory Ceremony
4:31 PM   Grade II FS - Victory Ceremony
4:46 PM   Grade Ib FS - Victory Ceremony
5:01 PM   Team - Victory Ceremony

For more information about the U.S. Paralympic Equestrian Team please visit United States Equestrian Federation at, the United States Equestrian Team Foundation at, or Team USA at

For more information about the 2016 Paralympic Equestrian competition please visit