Para-Equestrian Canada Announces 2011 Election Results

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Ottawa, ON—Para-Equestrian Canada is pleased to announce the 2011 election results for positions on the Canadian Para-Equestrian Committee (CPEC). Jane James of Duncan, BC, and Isabel Reinertson of Salmon Arm, BC, both current CPEC members and were nominated by the general Para-Equestrian Canada membership and subsequently elected by acclamation for two-year-terms on the Committee.
Sharon Buffitt of Pointe-Clarie, QC, was nominated and elected for the position of Athlete Representative on the Committee by the Para-Equestrian Canada ranked athletes. Each of the elected positions is for a two-year term, which will begin on February 1st, 2011. “We are very fortunate to have Jane and Isabel joining us for another term on the Canadian Para-Equestrian Committee,” said Amie O’Shaughnessy, manager of Para-Equestrian at Equine Canada. “Jane and Isabel have each made significant contributions to the success of Para-Equestrian sport in Canada; their expertise and vision will be essential as we enhance our existing programs leading into the 2012 Paralympic Games.”

"I am delighted to welcome Sharon Buffitt to the Canadian Para-Equestrian Committee as the Athlete Representative,” said Isabel Reinertson, Chair of the Canadian Para-Equestrian Committee. “Sharon was one of the original interim board members and has contributed much to the initial structure and development of the discipline."

The 2011 Canadian Para-Equestrian Committee will consist of: Sharon Buffitt of Pointe Claire, QC; Jane James of Duncan, BC; Margaret Murdoch of Orangeville, ON; Isabel Reinertson of Salmon Arm, BC; and Gwynne Rooke of Stouffville, ON. The Committee will elect a chairperson from amongst its own members at the first meeting in February.