National Reining Horse Association Derby Non Pro Champions

Monday, June 29, 2015


Oklahoma City, Okla. - The 2015 National Reining Horse Association (NRHA) Derby held an electric Non Pro finals today, including live commentary for the audience at home of the $183,000* est. Non Pro added money (added money is subject to change based on nominations). Probably the best story from the exciting evening of competition was that the future of NRHA took the top three placings in the L4 Non Pro, as the three top riders crowned tonight were all youth! There were 218 horses entered in the Non Pro, all vying for top honors in the Jim Norick Coliseum.

The winning horse of the NRHA Derby in each level (L) will receive:

Custom Montana Silversmiths Trophy Buckle

A Bob’s Custom Saddle

Rios of Mercedes boots

Classic Equine Product

Platinum Performance CJ

SmartPak Gift card

Level 1 & 2 Champions will receive a Shorty’s Caboy Hattery certificate

The Level 4 Non Pro Champion will also receive the use of a Sundowner trailer for one year, courteous of Twin Cities South Trailers, the official trailer of the NRHA Derby.

Level (L)4 Champion and Reserve Champion Cade McCutcheon – L4 Non Pro and Youth Non Pro Champion McCutcheon, aboard Custom Made Gun, quickly grasped the lead and held on in the L4 Non Pro Derby with a score of 219 as well as secured the title of Youth Non Pro Derby Champion. McCutcheon of Aubrey, Texas has $143,765 in NRHA LTE. McCutcheon and Custom Made Gun tied for the Non Pro L4 Reserve championship at the NRBC earlier this year. Custom Made Gun is sired by Gunner and is owned and nominated by McQuay Stables. McCutcheon takes home $17,538.54 for his win in the L4 Non Pro and $2,408.56 for winning the Youth Non Pro. The nominator was awarded $923.08.

Jack Medows ($106,495 NRHA LTE) and Genevieve Shifrin ($51,857 NRHA LTE) tied for the title of Reserve Champion in the L4 Non Pro Derby. Medows of Cuba, Missouri won $10,714.82 with $563.94 going to the nominator. Shifrin of Basalt, Colorado also won the L3 competition, both scoring a 217.5. Medows showed Spooks Smoken Wimpy, a 2009 gelding sired by Wimpys Little Step. Spooks Smoken Wimpy was nominated by Marc Gordon and is owned by Amy Medows.

Level (L)3 Non Pro Champion Genevieve Shifrin – L3 Non Pro Champion Shifrin showed Bella Juice, a 2009 mare sired by Smart Like Juice, owned and nominated by Cache Performance Horses. Shifrin earned top honors in the L3 Non Pro and took home a $23,383.38 paycheck for her L3 and L4 placings with $1,230.70 going to the nominator. Shifrin and Bella Juice earned the title of NRHA Youth Non Pro Derby Champion in 2014.

Level (L)1 and Level (L)2 Non Pro Champion Following a run-off from a three-way tie in the L2 Non Pro competition and a two-way tie in L1 Non Pro, Footwork Revolution, a 2010 stallion sired by Einsteins Revolution out of Fancy Footwork and nominated by Troop Quarter Horses. His owner and exhibitor Katsy Leeman came out of the arena victorious with a run score of 215.5 and tie-breaker score of 219. Leeman, from Massillon, OH, also took home Reserve Champion honors in the L3 Non Pro competition. Altogether, Leeman earned a paycheck of $19,839.89. The nominator earned $1,044.20.

Prime Time Non Pro Champion Jenanne Overgaard of Carefree, AZ took top honors in the Prime Time Non Pro competition showing Electric Grid a 2010 gelding sired by Jacs Electric Spark out of GVS Cherokee Jac, taking home a check for $3,106.53.

Check out the winning runs added daily by visiting the gallery!

For more information vist nrha.com