Euro Update: Aachen Fever in Europe

Wednesday, May 10, 2006

With the CDIO Aachen coming up in two weeks, an Aachen fever is raging through Europe. Last weekend, several national shows were being hosted where the Chef d'equipes made a final pick for the teams that compete at the CDIO which takes place May 17-21, 2006.

Most important "qualifier" was the national show in Bad Salzuflen, Germany, which was won by Nadine Capellmann on Elvis VA. In the Grand Prix, the pair rode to a 75.00% score and tied on first place with Capellmann's partner Martin Schaudt on Weltall VA. Isabell Werth finished third. In the Grand Prix special Capellmann rode the winning score of 76.60 % while Hubertus Schmidt placed second on Forest Gump with 74.80 %

American Leslie Morse was also present in Bad Salzuflen with her Swedish stallion Tip Top. In the Grand Prix she scored 69.38% and finished 11th and in the Special, Morse got 70.36% and ranked tenth.

Following the show in Bad Salzuflen, German chef d'equipe Holger Schmezer announced the combinations that will make up the German team for the CDIO Aachen. The selected riders are Nadine Capellmann on Elvis VA, Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff on Sterntaler Unicef, Hubertus Schmidt on Wansuele Suerte and Isabell Werth on Warum Nicht FRH.

The British Dressage selectors David Trott and Judy Harvey have selected the British team for the 2006 CDIO Aachen. The selectors nominated Emma Hindle (Lancet), Laura Bechtolsheimer (Douglas Dorsey), Sandy Phillips (Lara) and Richard Davison (Hiscox Karachi).

The Danish and French Equestrian Federations have also named the riders for the their teams French selectors Alain Franqueville, Margit Otto Crepin, and Isabelle Judet selected the identical team that competed at the 2005 European Dressage Championships. The French team for Aachen is constituted by Karen Tebar (Falada), Hubert Perring (Diabolo St. Maurice), Dominique d'Esme (Roi de Coeur) and Constance Menard (Lianca).

The Danish team has only three riders, but two of them are bringing two horses to Aachen. Andreas Helgstrand will be riding Blue Hors Don Schufro and Matine, Anders Dahl is saddling Mr G de Lully and Afrikka, and Fie Skarsoe is riding Munchhausen TSF.

More Euro News at

Related Links
Nadine Capellmann, World Champion Dressage
Leslie Morse and Tip Top 962 Win FEI Grand Prix Freestyle at the Palm Beach Dressage Derby CDI***/CDIY
Danish Domination at 2003 Palm Beach Dressage Derby