Edward Butler and Caugherty Crowned Emerald International Irish Masters Champions

Monday, November 17, 2014

Edward Butler and Caugherty, the newly crowned Emerald International Irish Masters Champions, photo Sonya Dempsey www.jumpingnews.com
Edward Butler and Caugherty, the newly crowned Emerald International Irish Masters Champions, photo Sonya Dempsey www.jumpingnews.com

17/11/2014 - The three day Emerald International Irish Masters came to a close on Sunday evening, with a thrilling finale to the €15,000 Irish Masters 1.50m Grand Prix, where Co Meath’s Edward Butler grabbed the winners prize with the Angela Taggart owned mare Caugherty.

Butler and the 12 year old by Limmerick who is out of a Flagmount Diamond dam, were the only combination to jump a double clear round over the Tom Holden designed course, with Canadian rider Rebecca McGoldrick finishing as runner up with Cubra Libra having finished with one fence down in the jump-off.

Waterford’s Francis Connors and the Bobby Flynn owned Hyperion also finished with just one rail on the floor to grab third spot, while Edward Butler’s older brother Alexander, finished fourth with Will Wimble.

Kildare’s Edward Doyle finished fifth with Mullaghdrin Touch The Stars, just ahead of John Floody in sixth position with Sonas Magnum.

Emerald Young Horse Finals
Earlier in the day, the Bourns Sport Horses €3,000 6 year-old final saw Cavan born Neal Fearon take victory with the Peig Van Amerongen owned mare Claricella (Clarimo x Con Air). Fearon had just under one tenth of a second to spare over runner up Alexander Butler riding Dekato (Upgrade x Stakkato). Co Waterford’s Tholm Keane slotted into third with Future Storm (Future Trend x Cruising)

The Irish Masters 7 year-old final saw Edward Butler take the winners rosette with the Anne Clancy owned mare CSF Whiterock Cruise (Cruising x Diamond Serpent), with Greg Broderick finishing as runner up with Mary Ellen De Ruschi’s stallion Hitchcock Van Overis who is by Darco out of a Corrado dam. Edward Butler also filled third place, this time with Harold McGahern’s Rincoola Rua (Diamant de Semilly x Cruising)

Fancy Dress and Young Riders
The Emerald fancy dress 1.35m speed class saw Greg Broderick grab top spot with MHS Automatic. The Frances O Regan owned Quidam Junior gelding had already won a class the previous day at Emerald and he secured his second win on Sunday, pushing Sven Hadley and Adelgonde Z into second, while Daniel Coyle and Uptown Girl slotted into third.

Kilkenny’s Anna Carway landed the Jim Derwin sponsored Young Rider final at Emerald with the perfectly named “Winner”, while Declan Egan finished as runner up with Cristobar.

Derry’s Daniel Coyle was crowned “Apex Fire” Leading Young Rider of the Show, while Edward Butler was named overall leading rider of the Emerald International three day show.

The attention at Emerald International now turns to next month’s Geoff Billington Masterclass Show at the Co Kildare venue which takes place on Friday December 12th.
RESULTS  - Emerald International Irish Masters – Sunday 16/11/2014
Emerald International Irish Masters 1.50m Grand Prix – Prize Fund €15,000
1. Edward Butler/Caugherty 0/0 51.05
2. Rebecca McGoldrick(CAN)/Cubra Libre 0/4 47.74
3. Francis Connors/Hyperion 0/4 51.83
4. Alexander Butler/Will Wimble 0/8 43.85
5. Edward Doyle/Mullaghdrin Touch The Stars 0/8 47.54
6. John Floody/Sonas Magnum 0/8 47.81
48 starters
11 in jump-off

Bourns Sport Horses 6 Year-Old Final
1. Neal Fearon/Claricella 0/0 44.48
2. Alexander Butler/Dekato 0/0 44.56
3. Tholm Keane Future Storm 0/0 45.81
4. Catherine Thornton/Galway Bay Easy Touch 0/0 46.00
5. Liam O Meara/Kennysflight 0/0 45.15
6. Francis Connors/Drumin Jacqueline 0/0 48.16

Emerald International 7 Year Old Final
1. Edward Butler/CSF Whiterock Cruise 0/0 41.36  
2. Greg Broderick/Hitchcock Van Overis 0/0 44.41
3. Edward Butler/Rincoola Rua 0/0 45.06
4. Francis Connors/Erne Ladygoldilocks 0/0 45.34 
5. Phillip McGuane/Crocodile Dundee 0/0 51.04 
6. John Floody/Mise Le Meas 0/4 44.74 

Emerald International Fancy Dress 1.35m Speed Class
1. Greg Broderick/MHS Automatic 0/0 51.89
2. Sven Hadley/Adelgonde Z 0/0 52.45
3. Daniel Coyle/Uptown Girl 0/0 52.93
4. Thomas O Brien/Ullrich 0/0 55.78
5. Roisin Fagan/Ikan 0/0 56.29
6. John Floody/Sonas Magnum 0/0 56.72

Emerald International Jim Derwin Young Rider Grand Prix
1. Anna Carway/Winner 0/0 40.18
2. Declan Egan/Cristobar 0/0 41.53
3. Noelle Barry/Norway Venture 0/0 42.14
4. Sven Hadley/Cassana 0/0 43.60
5. Sofie Slattery/Valentine Du Bois Pinchet 0/0 45.60 
6. Anna Carway/Ajaccio 0/4 42.25