2018 WCHR National Champions Recognized at Capital Challenge Horse Show

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Posted by



Earlier this month, USHJA World Championship Hunter Rider competitors came together for the WCHR Finals that were held during the 25th Anniversary Capital Challenge Horse Show, Oct. 3-7. The WCHR program offered 10 Challenge classes, the WCHR Professional Finals, and numerous awards and recognition for outstanding trainers, owners, riders, and others in the Hunter discipline, during the competition.

USHJA is pleased to recognize the WCHR National Champions for 2018 whose points were finalized during the event:

• Adult Amateur Champion: Garland Alban, of Lutherville, Md., trained by Tim and Kelly Goguen
• Amateur Owner 3'3" Champion: Martha Ingram, of Nashville, Tenn., trained by Tom Wright
• Amateur Owner 3'6" Champion: Becky Gochman, of Wellington, Fla., trained by Scott Stewart
• Children's Champion: Abby Parker, of San Diego, Calif., trained by Alicia Saxton
• Developing Pro Champion: Karli Postel, of N. Hollywood, Calif.
• Developing Pro Owner Champion: Laura Wasserman, of Los Angeles, Calif., owner of Casallo, Fine Design and Bocelli
• Handy Champion: Martha Ingram, of Nashville, Tenn., trained by Tom Wright
• Junior 3'3" Champion: Ainslee Gregg, of Frisco, Texas, trained by Jim and Joan Henson
• Junior 3'6" Champion: Emma Kurtz, of Hudson, Ohio, trained by Amanda Lyerly
• Pony Champion: Maddie Tosh, of Milton, Ga., trained by Hunt Tosh
• Pro Champion: Amanda Steege, of Ocala, Fla.
• Pro Owner Champion: Laura Wasserman, of Los Angeles, Calif., owner of Boss, Skyhawk, and Bocelli

Beyond the National Champions, Regional Champions and WCHR Challenge class winners, USHJA congratulates the following winners of special WCHR Awards that were presented during the WCHR Finals:

• Scott Stewart and Catch Me, owned by Gochman Sporthorse LLC, earned the Derbydown Trophy with a score of 92.5 (Donated by Louise Serio of Derbydown; awarded to the highest scoring hunter round by a professional)
• Hunt Tosh and Bastogne, owned by Douglas Wheeler, earned the Jeffrey Katz Trophy (Donated by Lisa Cudahy in memory of Jeffrey Katz; awarded to the horse-and-rider combination accumulating the most points in Green Hunter 3'6" and 3'9", as well as Green Conformation at their top four WCHR competitions and WCHR Challenge classes held during Capital Challenge)
• Douglas Wheeler, owner of Bastogne, earned the Rox Dene Trophy (donated by Elaine and Chanda Boylen; awarded to the owner of the high-score horse ridden by a professional from High Performance Hunter, Green Hunter 3'6" and 3'9", Green Conformation 3'6", High Performance Conformation, and Performance Working Hunter 3'6" sections from their top four WCHR competitions and WCHR Challenge classes held during Capital Challenge)
• Lucador and owner Betsee Parker earned the Alabama Clay Award (donated by the Weisman Family in honor of their two horses, Alabama Clay and Tribute; awarded to the horse-and-owner combination that accumulates the most points in the Green Hunter or Regular Conformation Hunter at their top four WCHR competitions and WCHR Challenge classes held during the Capital Challenge Horse Show)
• JP Godard, of Aiken, S.C., was awarded the USHJA/WCHR Course Designer Perpetual Trophy for his innovative and ground-breaking hunter course designing
• Caroline Moran, of Wellington, Fla., was presented the Winter's Run Sportsmanship Award, donated by Patricia Bosley in memory of her mother Sylvia Hechter, for best exemplifying the ideals of sportsmanship
• Tom Wright, of Wellington, Fla., was presented the Old Springhouse Perpetual Trophy, donated by the Old Springhouse Corporation, for his great support and lifetime commitment to our sport
• Danny Robertshaw, of Camden, S.C., was presented the Daniel P. Lenehan Perpetual Trophy, donated by Geoff Teall in memory of Daniel P. Lenehan, for his dedication and lifetime commitment to the judging of show hunters
• Dr. Christopher "Kit" Miller, of Brewster, N.Y., was awarded the David Peterson Perpetual Trophy, which is donated by Kavar Kerr and Jim Anderson, for his dedication and lifetime commitment to the care and well-being of horses
• Stewart-Warner Award Winners (Donated by Donald E. Stewart and Louise W. Serio in the memory of Laurie Gilbert Stewart & Mary Warner Brown; awarded to the Pony, Children's and Junior riders who exhibit the best riding style on a hunter throughout the competition):
• Pony - Allison Coleman, of Wellington, Fla.
• Children's - Maddie Tosh, of Milton, Ga.
• Junior - Grace Debney, of Hampden, Mass.

The USHJA sincerely thanks all the donors, sponsors, volunteers and supporters who make the WCHR Program possible. The USHJA also thanks the WCHR Task Force (Caroline Weeden, chair, Hope Glynn, vice chair, Rachel Howell, Susan Moriconi, Elizabeth Reilly, Corene Smith, Amanda Steege, Linda Valetic, Stephanie Wheeler, and Jeff Wirthman), which leads the program each year.

"This recognition of top Hunter riders across the country wouldn't be possible without our WCHR supporters," said Carl Weeden. "From the generous donors throughout the year, including those supporting the Palm Beach Hunter Spectacular gala, to the many Regional Awards donors, this program depends on the support of the Hunter community nationwide, and we are so appreciative to everyone for their contributions."

A special thank you to the 2018 USHJA WCHR Program sponsors: Charles Owen, Inc., Official Helmet of the USHJA; CWD Sellier, Official Saddle of the USHJA; Parlanti, Official Riding Boot of the USHJA; Professional's Choice, Official Horse Boot of USHJA, and Rood & Riddle, Official Equine Hospital and Veterinary Pharmacy of the USHJA; Shapley's, Best Turned Out Award Sponsor; and FITS, Awards Sponsor.

The WCHR Program was founded in 1992 to recognize and celebrate the hunter rider. Since the inaugural WCHR Professional Finals in 1992, the WCHR program has expanded to include coveted National and Regional year-end awards for Professionals, Developing Professionals, Amateur-Owners, Amateur Adults, Juniors, Children's and Pony riders. Become a member of the WCHR Program for 2019. Learn more at