Swiss Jumping Team Presented with 2008 Olympic Bronze at 50TH Anniversary Geneva Show

Tags :

The Swiss Jumping team of Steve Guerdat, Christina Liebherr, Niklaus Schurtenberger and Pius Schwizer were tonight presented with the 2008 Olympic bronze medal at the International Geneva Horse Show.

The medals were presented by Patrick Baumann, IOC member in Switzerland and member of the IOC Executive Board. Other officials involved in the ceremony were John P. Roche, representing the FEI, Isabelle Roch-Pentucci, member of the Swiss Olympic Executive Council, Werner Augsburger, Swiss chef de mission at the 2008 Olympic Games, and Charles Trolliet, president of the Swiss Federation for Equestrian Sport.

Norway, original winners of team bronze in Hong Kong, were stripped of the medal as a result of the legal procedure which followed team member Tony Andre Hansen’s disqualification when his horse Camiro tested positive for the prohibited substance Capsaicin. The procedure began on 21 August 2008 and was completed on 30 July 2010.

Consequently, the 2008 Olympic Jumping team results have been amended as follows:

1. USA – gold medallists and Olympic champions
2. Canada – silver medallists
3. Switzerland – bronze medallists
4. The Netherlands
5. Great Britain
6. Sweden
7. Australia
8. Norway

Photo caption: Niklaus Schurtenberger, Christina Liebherr, Steve Guerdat, and Pius Schwizer, 2008 Olympic Jumping team bronze medallists. © Kit Houghton / FEI