Sherman Wins 2001 AHSA/Pessoa & Miller's National Hunter Seat Equitation Medal Final

USA Equestrian (formerly AHSA) announced today that Randy Sherman from Pasadena, CA, beat a field of 270 of the nation's top junior riders to win the 2001 AHSA/Pessoa & Miller's National Hunter Seat Equitation Medal Final held October 14, 2001, at the Pennsylvania National in Harrisburg, PA. Sherman, 16, rode his mount, Gladiator, owned by Don Stewart of Ocala, FL., for the first time last week when his trainer Susie Schroer found the catch ride at the last minute.
"This was supposed to be my year off," said Sherman. "I don't have an equitation horse and I didn't qualify to come here until late in the summer. I was just going to play football, soccer and baseball," he added.
Ronnie Beard of Jamison, PA and Ellen Raidt-Lordi of Wellington, FL. judged this year's championship. The championship was decided after two or three rounds of competition and judged on equitation, which is the rider's ability to ride their horses with control, competency and compatibility. In the first round, riders were judged over a jumping course. Sherman was first to go of the 25 riders that were called back for a second round.
The AHSA/Pessoa & Miller's Hunter Seat Equitation Medal is a coveted AHSA prize and proves to be a significant stepping-stone for international competitions as 30% of past winners have gone on to represent the U.S. internationally. This year, over a thousand Hunter Seat Equitation Medal qualifying classes were held at AHSA recognized horse shows throughout the country, resulting in approximately 400 young riders qualifying for this event.
Randy Sherman adds his name to the Adrian Van Sinderen Memorial Trophy, joining famous winners from the past, including Victor Hugo-Vidal, George Morris and Katie Monahan-Prudent. This year's winner received a special "keeper" trophy, a Triple Crown Custom horse cooler, a "Jubilee" Pessoa saddle, a pair of Pytchley breeches and an "On Course" jacket, courtesy of Miller's and Pessoa.
2001 AHSA/Pessoa & Miller's National Hunter Seat Equitation Medal Final Results: 
1. Randy Sherman, Pasadena, CA. 
Trainers: Susie Schroer & Don Stewart 
2. Charlie Jayne, Wellington, FL. 
Trainers: Missy Clark & Alex R. Jayne 
3. Gwendolyn Casebeer, Toledo, OH 
Trainer: Polly Howard 
4. Lauren van Eldik, Ocala, FL. 
Trainers: Don Stewart & Bill Cooney 
5. Camilla Cleese, Montecido, CA. 
Trainers: Archie Cox & Denise Lynn 
6. Jamie Taylor, Tarzana, CA. 
Trainers: Nick Karazissis & Don Stewart 
7. Caitlyn Sheils, Sheffield, MA. 
Trainers: Andre Dignelli, Kate Oliver & Patricia Griffith 
8. Whitney Roper, Atlantic Highlands, N.J. 
Trainers: Bill Cooney & Don Stewart 
9. Travis Lubow, Del Canyon, CA. 
Trainers: Karen Healey & Fred Bauer