The National Horse Show and Syracuse Invitational are proud to announce the 2010 Judges

Syracuse, NY - The National Horse Show Association of America is pleased to announce the judges for this year's ASPCA Maclay Finals. The ASPCA Maclay National Championship will be held at the Syracuse Invitational Sporthorse Tournament featuring the 127th National Horse Show. The show will run from November 2nd through 7th at the Oncenter Complex in downtown Syracuse, NY, with the Maclay Finals to be held on Sunday, November 7th.

Melanie Smith Taylor and Scott Hofstetter have been chosen to judge the prestigious class. Taylor's contributions to the sport are well known. Taylor was the 1978 American Grandprix Association's Lady Rider of the Year and AGA's overall Rider of the Year. Taylor's results convinced the AGA that men and women could compete in the sport on even terms and lead the discontinuation of the Lady Rider award. Taylor was a part of the USET's Gold Medal team at the 1979 Pan American Games in Puerto Rico. In 1980 Taylor won the individual Bronze Medal at the Alternate Olympics aboard top horse Calypso. In 1984, Taylor and Calypso were a part of the Gold Medal show jumping team at the Los Angeles Olympic Games. Taylor is well known to Syracuse fans, as one of our commentators for the past three years, and has also worked as a television announcer for our sport.

Nearly 24 years to the day after Hofstetter won the Maclay Championship at Madison Square Garden, Hofstetter will now be returning to the class as a judge. Hofstetter's accomplishments include Leading Rider at such prestigious shows as Capital Challenge and Devon. Hofstetter also trained the 1999 Maclay winner, Emily Williams.

The ASPCA Maclay Horsemanship class has been held since 1933, and it is one of the most prestigious competitions for junior riders in the United States. Its winners are some of the biggest names in equestrian sport. Previous winners include: William Steinkraus in 1941, Frank Chapot (1948), George Morris (1952), Leslie Burr (1972), Stacia Klein Madden (1987), Nicole Shahinian Simpson in 1992 and Jessica Springsteen in 2008. Last year's ASPCA Maclay National Championship winner was Zazou Hoffman, trained by Missy Clark.

James Clapperton and Shane George have been chosen as the judges for the hunters at the 127th National Horse Show. With the brand new $50,000 Hunter Classic capping off the hunter competition for 2010, Clapperton and George will certainly be judging the best hunters in the country. Clapperton and George will also serve as judges for the new local classes, which will be held on Tuesday, November 2nd.

Planning for the 2010 Tournament is in full swing. Vendor booths are now on sale and ringside and main stage tables will go on sale April 15th to the public. For more information on the Syracuse Invitational featuring the 127th National Horse Show, please visit

About the Syracuse Invitational Sporthorse Tournament: Each fall, the Syracuse Invitational Sporthorse Tournament welcomes the top-ranked equestrians from across the US and the world to downtown Syracuse to compete at the War Memorial Arena in the Oncenter Complex. The event features a full slate of high-level competition, entertainment, shopping and exhibitions. A 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization, the Syracuse Invitational benefits Cornell University Equine Hospital and the Vera House.

About the National Horse Show: Founded in 1883 at the original Madison Square Garden, the National Horse Show is America's oldest indoor horse show. The National Horse Show Association's primary activity is the annual production of the National Horse Show, a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization, and all ancillary events. Over its 126 years of history, the National Horse Show has provided financial aide to many worthwhile charities.

Photo Credit: Scott Hofstetter has been chosen as one of the judges for the 2010 ASPCA Maclay National Championship Finals. Photo By: Kenneth Kraus/