McCutcheon and The Wizster Lead NRBC Open Preliminaries after First Day

The National Reining Breeders Classic Open competition began Wednesday, April 15, with the first of two sections of Open Preliminaries. The second section will run Thursday with the remaining 94 of 189 Open entries at the Great Southwest Equestrian Center in Katy, Texas.

Tom McCutcheon (2015 NRBC Former NRBC Champion Tom McCutcheon), from Aubrey, Texas, entered the arena as draw 64 to take the lead in the Open Level 4. Riding The Wizster, by Gallo Del Cielo out of Miss Whizard Jac, McCutcheon marked a 222.5 for the lead. The Wizster, a 5-year-old gelding, is owned by Turnabout Farm Inc., of Gloucester, Massachusetts.

Leading the preliminaries in the Open Levels 3 and 2 is Gunner Dun It Again, ridden by Joao Felipe Lacerda with a 221.5. Gunner Dun It Again, by Colonels Smoking Gun out of Dun Its Déjà vu, is owned by Paulo Tripoloni. The 4-year-ol d stallion was flown from Brazil to compete at the NRBC.

Roger Barral piloted his horse Whiz N Annie to the high score of the Open Level 1 with a 210.5. Whiz N Annie is a 5-year-old mare by Walla Walla Whiz out of Pamelas Lil Gun.

Another Turnabout Farm Inc., entry, Belle Starr Dun It ridden by Debbie Brown, is currently tied for the lead of the Open Prime Time preliminaries with Carol Metcalf and Mister Smarts. Both scored a 219. Belle Starr Dun It is a 6-year-old mare by Hollywood Dun It out of Chic Olena Starbuck. Mister Smarts, a 5-year-old stallion by Mister Dual Pep out of Cowgirls Are Smart, is owned by Carol and her husband Steve.

Open finalists will be determined once the scores are in from Thursday’s second section. The top 30 in the Open division and the top 20 in the other four Open divisions will compete in the Finals on Saturday. Open finalists will determine their finals draw during the Cardinal Reining Horses Open Draw Party on Thursday evening. Along with the draw, the finalists will also get to vote on who will officiate the finals Saturday.

The Wizster ridden by Tom McCutcheon - 2015 NRBC (Open Classic)