German Victory in the First Qualification for the Grand Prix of Mannheim

(Photo: Karl-Heinz Friere)
(Photo: Karl-Heinz Friere)

The celebration of the 100th anniversary of the German CSIO has started with a German victory in the most important class of the opening day, the first qualification for the Grand Prix of Mannheim on Sunday, the Berrang Prize. David Will, the winner of the Grand Prix of Mannheim in 2013, left in the 15 horse jump-off the world’s top riders behind him.

The 27 year old rider from the Hessen city of Pfungstaddt won in clear 38.62 seconds aboard the 15 year old French mare Mic Mac du Tillard as the tenth starter in the jump-off. Many stars like 2012 Olympic Champion Steve Guerdat of Switzerland and 2014 WEG double third Beezie Maden of the United States did not make it with one pole down into the jump-off. The second fastest clear round in the decisive round achieved Ireland’s Conor Swail with the ten year old Oldenburg mare Viva Columbia in 39.36 seconds.

The German 2010 Team World Champion Marcus Ehning took one turn pretty short, almost caught a refusal, but stayed clear placing third aboard the ten year old Funky Fred, a son of his 2000 Olympic Team Champion For Pleasure (0/40.07). 69 hundreds of a second more needed the Belgian Grand Prix winner in series of the last weeks Jerôme Guery aboard Zojasper placing fourth (0/40.76). With Kevin Babington and Mark Q also fifth place (0/42.93) went to Ireland . The fastest four penalty ride achieved Germany ’s Joerg Oppermann aboard Che Guevara (4/39.78) placing sixth. Ludger Beerbaum of Germany and the nine year old For Pleasure daughter For Sale had an unfortunate pole down at the end of the jump-off (8th/4/41.75).

Results and more information: or