Canadian Dressage Talent Set to Represent Canada at the 2011 North American Junior and Young Riders’ Championships

Ottawa, ON—The Dressage Selection Committee is pleased to announce the selected athletes who will represent Canada at the 2011 Adequan FEI North American Junior & Young Rider Championships. Presented by Gotham North, these Championships will be held July 25–31, 2011 at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, KY. Three complete teams and one individual, for a total of 13 competitors, have been named to represent Canada at the Junior Rider level.

Junior Team West will include the following riders:

Rider / Home Town / Horse / Owner
Dalyce Gagnon / Cochrane, AB / Weynox / Fritz Baehre
Monica Houweling /Delta, BC / Stentano / Monica and Linda Houweling
Megan Overwater / Rocky Mountain House, AB / Wind Walker / Kim Aasman
Monika Zillinger/ Armstrong, BC / Nucari / Christa Massingwinkel

Junior Team East will include the following riders:

Rider / Home Town / Horse / Owner
Nicole Babich Morin / Vaudreuil Dorion, QC / Foxfire / Nicole Babich Morin
Marah Cahill-Gaudet / St Johns, NL / Leo / Grand Prix Equestrian
Julie Channell / Boucherville, QC / Rela / Julie Channell
Tanya Strasser Shostak / Ste Adele, QC / Dancing Tyme / Evi Strasser

Team Ontario will include the following riders:

Jonah Freedman /Toronto, ON / Ulex / Jonah Freedman
Noémie Gagnon-Bergeron / Kanata, ON / Vavite Fortuna / Noémie Gagnon-Bergeron
Ashley Phipps / Nepean, ON / Dark Dandy / Ashley Phipps
Anneka Sutton / Drumbo, ON / Fidelio / Anneka Sutton

Individual Manitoba:
Sarah Loewen / Winnipeg, MB / Ricardo / Sarah Loewen

Reserve rider Ontario — Brooke Koppeser / Winterbourne, ON / Viva’s Capitol / Ute Busse
Second reserve rider Ontario — Ally Dunlop / Burlington, ON / Danero / Ally Dunlop

Two complete teams for a total of eight Young Riders and their horses have been named to represent Canada at the Championships at the Young Rider level.

Team Ontario will include the following riders:
Bronwyn Barlow Cash / Branford, ON / Nashua / Lynda Cooper (Barlow Cash also qualified a second horse Rubirondo owned by Ferdinand Haupt)
Alexandra Dvorak / Hillsburgh, ON / Fling / Thomas Dvorak
Megan Lane / Collingwood, ON / Caravella / Megan Lane (Lane also qualified a second horse Lord Oldenburg owned by Froukje Staal)
Kristin Sutton / Drumbo, ON / Robic / Kristin Sutton

Young Rider Combined Team (BC and QC) will include the following riders:

Mathilde Blais Tetrault / Montreal, ON / Michelangelo / Mathilde Blais-Tetreault
Emily Fownes/ Montreal, ON / Frappuccino / Emily Fownes
Esmee Ingham / West Vancouver, BC / Norseman / Esmee and Candie Ingham
Anne-Mylaine Messier / St-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, QC / Marzipan / Anne-Mylaine Messier

Reserve rider Ontario — Alexandra Kraushaar / Waterloo, ON / Lawrence V / Alexandra Kraushaar

For further information, please contact Christine Peters, Manager Dressage Canada, Telephone: (613) 248-3433 ext 138 or