The Belgian Championships - Seventh National Title for Jeroen Devroe

For the seventh time Jeroen Devroe won the national Grand Prix champion's title. The Belgian Championships were held at the Flanders Dressage Event at the welcoming Stable Hulsterlo in Meerdonk. Devroe was certainly the hot favourite for the title and he didn't disappoint all expectations. The Belgian talent of the year 2010 Julie de Deken became the runner up and won the silver medal. She rode very convincingly and was in charge of her horse, being placed second behind Devroe in all three rounds Grand Prix, Grand Prix Special and the Freestyle to music. Unfortunately Julie de Deken experienced a bad start at the beginning of the 2011 outdoor show season. This resulted in not being nominated for the Belgian team for the 2011 European Championships next week. German based Johan Zagers ended up with the bronze, after a fifth place in Grand Prix, fourth in the Special and third in the Freestyle.

All competitors gave a good competition and thus had a great practice for the forthcoming European championships. Claudia Fassaert on Donnerfee (by De Niro x Rosenkavalier) ended at the fourth spot in Meerdonk. Devroe, Fassaert, Zagers and Philippe Jorissen are named in the Belgian team for the EC in Rotterdam starting next week.

DN Meerdonk (Belgium) Grand Prix Freestyle
Results August 07 2011

    Rk    Name Rider    Name Horse    Country    Score
    1     Jeroen Devroe     Apollo van het Vijverhof     BEL     73.38%
    2     Julie de Deken     Fazzino     BEL     73.03%
    3     Johan Zagers     Question de Liberte     BEL     69.45%