2001 BET/AHSA National Junior Jumper Championships to Be Held at Pennsylvania National

USA Equestrian (formerly AHSA) announced today the 2001 BET (Black Entertainment Television) /AHSA National Junior Jumper Championships will be held at the Pennsylvania National Horse Show on October 11-13th, 2001. The 2001 BET/AHSA Individual National Junior Jumper Championship will be held in two phases on the 11th and the 13th after which the Overall Individual National Junior Jumper Champion will be named. The 2001 BET/AHSA National Junior Jumper Prix des States Championship will be held and named on the 12th. The championships are also a USA Junior Olympics - Equestrian Event.
The name of the winning team is inscribed on the Frances Newbill Rowe Memorial Trophy; named in honor of the top jumper trainer of the 1960's and '70's. Winning team riders and the individual winner are awarded "keeper" trophies as well as a Triple Crown Custom awards blanket. Scholarships are also awarded, with the winning team receiving $750 each, the second place team - $500 each and the third place team - $250 each. In addition, individual winners are awarded scholarship money with the first place rider receiving $1,000; second place $800, third place $700, fourth place $600, fifth place $500 and sixth place $400.
Last year's individual winner was Maggie Jane riding Alex R. Jayne's Kinda Blue. Riding for the Zone 1 winning team in 2000 were Jennifer Hannan of Wakefield, RI, with Twist of Fate; Cody Baird of Greenwich, CT, on Orlandia; Emily Bickford of Hingham, MA, aboard Mandella and Sarah Willeman of Hamilton, MA, on Lapeti. The silver medal went to Zone 10 and the bronze to Zone 4.